Match Reports

Melrose vs Stirling County

10 Mar 2018

To-day’s re-scheduled BT Premier match was played on a cold wet lunch-time in front of a sparse crowd and on a very wet pitch recovering from last week’s huge dump of snow. In fact, the playing surface was in doubt until 90 minutes before kick-off. With two minutes played Craig Jackson opened the scoring with a penalty, but it took another 23 minutes before the scoreboard operator was troubled again. From a turnover Melrose passed the ball rapidly from left to right. Iain Moody made the initial break with the ball eventually being passed, via the hands of Murdo McAndrew and Ali Grieve, to Fraser Thomson who nipped into St. Mary’s Corner for an unconverted try.

Half time – Melrose 8 Stirling County 0

The second half was 21 minutes old when Ewan Macgarvie slid through a gap in the Melrose defence to score a try, converted by Jonny Hope, between the posts. With ten minutes remaining a penalty lineout in the Town Corner saw Grieve, resplendent in blue headgear, crash over for an unconverted try. With no-side imminent Bruce Colvine took a quick tap penalty passing to Moody who needed no second invitation to cross in the Policeman’s Corner for a try. Jason Baggott’s drop kick conversion from the touch-line ended the match

Melrose 20 Stirling County 7

Melrose – Fraser Thomson, Austin Lockington, George Taylor, Craig Jackson, Ross McCann, Jason Baggott, Murdo McAndrew, Grant Shiells, Russell Anderson, Nick Beavon, James Head, Angus Runciman, Ali Grieve, Ruairdh Knott, Iain Moody. Replacements – Ben McLean, Ruairi McLeod, Aaron Welsh, Gavin Wood, Bruce Colvine.

Stirling County – Craig Robertson, Shaun Macdonald, Ewan Macgarvie, Logan Bonar, Kerr Gossman, Jonny Hope, Ruairidh Swan, Remy Chies, Reyner Kennedy, Gary Holborn, Joe Beech, Stefan Yarrow, Hamilton Burr, Matthew Emmison, Ruairidh Leishman. – Replacements – Adam Wood, Adam Nichol, Stevie Neill, Wallace Nelson, Callum Jardine.

Referee – Michael Todd. Assistants – George Pounder & Willie Anderson


Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :