Match Reports

Border League - Jed vs Melrose

24 Feb 2017

To-night's Bookers Border League clash was played without Fraser Thomson, George Taylor, Murdo McAndrew, Grant Runciman & Iain Moody who were all starting for the Scotland Club XV against England Counties XV and Russell Anderson who was on the bench for the same match, Ross McCann starting for Scotland U20 against Wales U20 and Patrick Anderson who is on the bench for Sunday's match between Scotland U19 and Scotland Students. The Jed-Forest team was at full strength. The match was played under floodlights on a cold, still evening with intermittent light showers and on a sticky pitch. The scoring opened after 20 minutes when Melrose won a scrum against the head within the Jed 22, Ruairi Campbell picking up at no.8 and feeding Bruce Colvine going left. The scrum half dived into the corner at the Town end on the stand side. Four minutes later Robbie Yourston opened the Jed account with a penalty. A couple of minutes short of the break Melrose won a scrum 5 to the left of the posts and with play crabbing right in a series of picks and drives Bruce Colvine eventually plunges over the line to the right of the posts for a try converted by Jason Baggott.
Half time - Jed-Forest 3 Melrose 12.
The second half was a battle for supremacy between the two defences with the scoreline kept to a single Yourston penalty after 75 minutes. Congratulations are extended to the youngsters who stepped up to the plate and ensured that Melrose topped Pool "B" of the Bookers Border League to face either Gala or Hawick in this year's Border League Final.
Jed-Forest 6 Melrose 12.
Jed-Forest - Lewis Young, Callum Young, Gregor Young, Monty Mitchell, Rory Marshall, Robbie Yourston, Sean Goodfellow, Ryan Gibson, Grant Paxton, Connor Hogg, Clark Skeldon, Gregor Law, Graham Robson, Michael Weekley, Donald Grieve. Replacements - Gary Clarkson, Jamie Hynd, Daniel Wardrop, Elliot Stewart, Garry Munro, Chris Gillon, Robbie Shirra-Gibb.
Melrose - David Colvine, Thomas Klein, Nyle Godsmark, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Bruce Colvine, Callum Crookshanks, Cammie McKay, Ruairi McLeod, Aaron Welsh, Peter Eccles, Ally Grieve, Callum Wilde, Ruairi Campbell - Replacements - Conor McAulay, Ben McLean, Alasdair O'Reilly, Struan Hutchison, Adam Hall, Lewis Mallin, Austin Lockington.
Referee - David Changleng. Assistants - Colin Reavley & Graeme Hastie.


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :