Match Reports

BT Cup Quater Finals Marr vs Melrose

10 Feb 2018

The overhead conditions for this BT Cup Quarter Final match were considerably kinder than on last week’s visit to the same venue, with only light showers preceding the start of each half. However, heavy overnight and morning rain ensured that the pitch was considerably softer than it had been last week. Twelve Minutes into the match Melrose won a penalty lineout in the right corner and, after a couple of phases of play Jason Baggott scored a try by the posts with Craig Jackson converting. Almost all of the subsequent play took part in the Marr half and, on 33 minutes, Angus Johnston was yellow carded for illegally disrupting an advancing Melrose scrum short of the try line and Melrose were awarded a penalty try. A couple of minutes later Fraser Thomson was bamboozled by a bouncing ball. Marr capitalised on this moving play from the left to the right side of the pitch with Scott Bickerstaff diving into the right corner for an unconverted try.

Half time – Marr 5 Melrose 14.

Four minutes into the second half James Head completed a rolling maul from a penalty lineout with a try converted by Baggott. There is no doubt that a soggy pitch is a great leveller and this, combined with a stuffy Marr defence ensured that there was no more scoring until Baggott kicked a penalty at 76 minutes. Almost from the kick off Marr gained and kept possession disrupting Melrose who, eventually, ran out of defenders when Greg Jackson received the ball just over the Melrose 22 and galloped in for an unconverted try in the left corner.

Marr 10 Melrose 24.

Marr – Toby Buchanan, Scott Bickerstaff, Richard Dalgleish, Conor Bickerstaff, Tom Steven, Craig Kolarik, Grant Baird, Greg Jackson, Ollie Rossi, Fraser Ferguson, Kyle Hatherell, Ross Miller, Mackenzie Pearce, Angus Johnston, Ben Johnston. Replacements – Curran McMillan, Neil Wallace, Fraser Grant, Murray Beckwith, Kenny Diffenthal.

Melrose – Fraser Thomson, Austin Lockington, Nyle Godsmark, Craig Jackson, Goerge Taylor, Jason Baggott, Murdo McAndrew, Grant Shiells, Russell Anderson, Nick Beavon, James Head, Angus Runciman, Ruaridh Knott, Grant Runciman, Iain Moody. Replacements – Richard Ferguson, Ruairi McLeod, Ally Grieve, Ruaridh Campbell, Bruce Colvine, Ross McCann.

Referee – Mike Adamson.


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :