Match Reports

BT Premiership Round 4 Melrose v Glasgow Hawks

23 Sep 2017

To-day's BT Premiership match was played in warm, but cloudy, conditions on a firm pitch. Melrose did the initial pressing, but, at 5 minutes, lost possession in the Hawks 22 with Hawks breaking down the stand side. Fine passing, including one more than suspiciously forward pass, obvious from the Press Box if not to the Officials on the ground, resulted in Brendan McGroarty crossing for a try in St. Mary's Corner with George Horne converting. "C'est la vie", but to quote Jack Dun "for every good try there is frequently a forward pass somewhere!" The vast majority of the half was defence dominated with no exciting action except that Craig Jackson opened the Melrose account with a penalty at 22 minutes, Horne missed a penalty at 33 minutes, but kicked one two minutes later and Jackson ended the half with his second penalty.

Half time: Melrose 6 Glasgow Hawks 10

And then a game of rugby broke out! Six minutes into the second half Melrose exerted pressure in the left corner with the ball passing right to Murdo McAndrew who scored a try between the posts with Jackson converting. Five minutes later Russell Anderson crashed over in the Church Corner from a rolling maul from a penalty lineout then, almost from the kick off, Horne completed the Hawks tally with his second penalty. On 58 minutes Matt Smith was yellow-carded for tripping up Ross McCann in full flight chasing his kick ahead and immediately after Melrose strove to drive over the line with, eventually, McAndrew being successful. Jackson added the conversion and seven minutes later he kicked his third penalty. With six minutes remaining Melrose were awarded a penalty 5m out from the Hawks line, the tap being taken quickly with the ball passed to Ruaridh Knott who crossed the line, unopposed, for the Melrose bonus point try which Jackson converted.

Melrose 35 Glasgow Hawks 13

Melrose: Fraser Thomson, Ross McCann, Nyle Godsmark, Craig Jackson, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Murdo McAndrew, Grant Shiells, Russell Anderson, Ruairi McLeod, James Head, Angus Runciman, Iain Moody, Grant Runciman, Ally Miller. Replacements: Richard Ferguson, Dan Elkington, Ruaridh Knott, Bruce Colvine, James Johnstone.

Glasgow Hawks: Robert Beattie, Kyle Rowe, Brendan McGroarty, Davie Milne, Sam Yawayawa, Ross Thomson, George Horne, Steven Findlay, Grant Stewart, Gary Strain, Andrew Kirkland, Kiran McDonald, Cammy Fenton, Matt Smith, Jake Eaglesham. Replacements: Stephen Leckie, Lewis Skinner, Callum Kerr, Jack Steele, Erland Oag.

Referee: Kevin White. Assistants: David Changleng & Grant Denholm.


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :