Match Reports

BT Premiership Round 7 Melrose v Marr

14 Oct 2017

Prior to to-day's BT Premiership match Melrose held a lunch to celebrate 140 years since the Club was founded. The game itself was played in dreich conditions but that did not interfere with the scoring. Craig Kolarik opened the scoring with a penalty at 2 minutes when Melrose were caught off-side in front of the posts. Five minutes later Melrose were pressing up the right wing when the ball was whipped left across the field to Ruaridh Knott who dived into the Town Corner for the opening try which Craig Jackson converted. On 19 minutes Jason Baggott intercepted the ball on the Marr 10m line and raced into the Policeman's Corner for a try converted by Jackson. Almost from the kick-off James Malcolm was shown a yellow card for a no-arms tackle and, within a minute, Gavin Wood raced into the Policeman's Corner for an unconverted try. The Melrose bonus point try came at 27 minutes when, following some finger tip flick passing, Sam Pecqueur scored a try, converted by Jackson, in the Policeman's Corner. Fraser Thomson made a great break down the stand side, on the half hour, and his kick ahead was latched on to by Wood who scored a try in the Town Corner with Jackson adding the conversion.

Half time: Melrose 33 Marr 3

Within a minute of the second half starting Nyle Godsmark broke up the far side and, having bamboozled the Marr defence, raced in for a try at the posts with Jackson converting. Melrose won a scrum 5, at 48 minutes, and Godsmark nipped over near the posts for a try converted by Baggott. On 64 minutes Baggott sold an outrageous dummy and slid in for a try to the left of the posts with he, himself, converting. Melrose were awarded a penalty try at 70 minutes when a rolling maul was collapsed crossing the line. Three minutes later Marr exerted considerable pressure with Malcolm crashing over for a try converted by Kolarik. This was scant reward for the effort put in by Marr throughout the match. With four minutes remaining Melrose took a quick tap penalty on the right with the ball being passed left to Pecqueur who dived into the Church Corner for an unconverted try.

Melrose 66 Marr 10

Melrose: Fraser Thomson, Gavin Wood, Nyle Godsmark, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Bruce Colvine, Grant Shiells, Russell Anderson, Nick Beavon, James Head, Angus Runciman, Iain Moody, Ruaridh Knott, Ally Miller. Replacements: Richard Ferguson, Ruairi McLeod, Neil Irvine-Hess, Murdo McAndrew, Ben Chalmers.

Marr: Dougie Steele, Toby Buchanan, Richard Dalgleish, Conor Bickerstaff, Tom Steven, Craig Kolarik, Kaleem Barreto, Greg Jackson, James Malcolm, William Farquhar, Ewan Bulger, Greg Peterson, MacKenzie Pearce, Angus Johnston, Fraser Grant. Replacements: Stephen Adair, Chris Nisbet, Ross Jackson, Gregor Ness, Max Freydell.

Referee: Vivien Praderie (FFR). Assistants: Steven Turnbull & John Smith


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :