Match Reports

BT Premiership Semi Final

01 Apr 2017

To-day saw the semi-finals of the 2016/17 BT Premiership play-off with Melrose playing Currie and Ayr playing Glasgow Hawks. After a wet morning, and a heavy shower just before kick-off, the pitch was a little slippery, but the weather improved as the game progressed. With two minutes played Jamie Forbes opened the scoring kicking a penalty from just inside the Melrose half. Six minutes later Melrose won a penalty lineout in the Policeman's Corner with Ruaridh Knott rumbling over for the first try of the match, and, almost from the kick off Melrose had a rolling maul on the Currie 22. Going blind the ball reached Nyle Godsmark who nipped round the Currie defence to score a try in the Town Corner leaving Jason Baggott a tricky, but successful, converion from the touchline. On the quarter hour Melrose won another penalty lineout on the far side and from the resulting maul the ball was spun left to George Taylor who off-loaded to Godsmark to score his second try, this time between the posts. Baggott, again, converted then he kept the scoreboard ticking over with a penalty at 27 minutes.Two minutes before the interval, Mike Vernal was sent to the sin bin for executing a tip tackle.
Half time - Melrose 22 Currie 3
Thirteen minutes into the second half Melrose won a scrum on their own 22. The ball was passed flat to Craig Jackson who, in turn, passed back inside to Austin Lockington who set off on a mazy run to score a try in St. Mary's Corner with Baggott converting from the touchline. Six minutes later Ross Weston completed a rolling maul from a penalty lineout in the Policeman's Corner witha try converted by Forbes. Baggott was wide with a penalty at 63 minutes, but kicked an easier one two minutes later. On 70 minutes Craig Jackson was yellow carded for a high tackle, then, following a comedy of errors at a lineout in the Church Corner shortly after Allty Grieve dived in for a try converted by Baggott. Currie attacked, immediately, from the kick off with Robbie Nelson racing in for a try which Forbes, in his haste, failed to convert. For the last play of the match Baggott kicked his third penalty.
As a result of this victory, and Ayr defeating Glasgow Haks 38-22, the final will be contested by Melrose and Ayr on the Greenyards on Saturday, 15th April at 3.00pm.
Melrose - Fraser Thomson, Austin Lockington, Nyle Godsmark, George Taylor, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Murdo McAndrew, Jamie Bhatti, Russell Anderson, Ruairi McLeod, James Head, Ruaridh Knott, Neil Irvine-Hess, Grant Runciman, Iain Moody. Replacements - Cammie MacKay, Dan Elkington, Nick Beavon, Ally Grieve, Peter Eccles, Bruce Colvine, Craig Jackson.
Currie - Harvey Elms, Ruairdh Smith, Ratu Tagive, Robbie Nelson, Ben Robbins, Jamie Forbes, Charlie Shiel, John Cox, Graeme Carson, A.P.McWilliam, Hamish Bain, Stephen Ainslie, Luke Crosbie, Rhys Davies, Ross Weston. Replacements - Paul Mundell, Reece Patterson, Mike Vernal, Scott McGinley, Matt O'Neil, Matthew Hooks, Cameron Gray.
Referee - Lloyd Linton. Assistants - Kevin White & Alistair Watt.


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :