Match Reports

Jed-Forst v Melrose BT Cup

17 Nov 2017

The first round of this year's BT Cup was played under the Jed-Forest floodlights on a cold and wet evening on a slippery pitch. Craig Jackson opened the scoring with a penalty in front of the posts at eight minutes and repeated the process at 19 minutes. Jed took the lead, at 26 minutes, when Darren Gillespie snaffled the ball in a maul and ran over, unopposed, for a try converted by Ewan Scott. Picking up at the base of a ruck three minutes later Grant Shiells crashed over in the right corner for a try which Jackson converted. At 37 minutes Bruce Colvine, again from the base of a ruck, made to pass left and took the opportunity to nip through a gap in the Jed defence for an unconverted try.

Half Time: Jed-Forest 7 Melrose 18

After half time Rory Darge, replacing Grant Runciman, made his first appearance for the 1st XV. Jackson increased the Melrose lead at 57 minutes with his third penalty, but this lead was reduced two minutes later when Lewis Young squirmed over the line under a pile of bodies for an unconverted try. At 68 minutes Ruaridh Knott, standing out amongst the three-quarters, took a pass and barrelled over for a short range try on the right with Jackson converting. Almost immediately Fraser Harkness lost his cool and was dispatched to the sin bin. Melrose upped the tempo and, selling a dummy to the Jed defence, Jackson crossed for a try which he, himself, converted. To end the match interplay on the right between the Young brothers saw an inside off-load to Callum Young who split the Melrose defence to score an unconverted try.

Jed-Forest 17 Melrose 35

Jed-Forest: Lewis Young, Callum Young, Gregor Young, Monty Mitchell, Robbie Shirra-Gibb, Ewan Scott, Rory Marshall, Connor Hogg, Cameron McKay, Paulo Ferreira, Clark Sheldon, Jamie Hynd, Andrew Sanders, Joe Northwood, Darren Gillespie. Replacement: Jamie Oliver, Grant Paxton, Jack Howe, Fraser Harkness, Elliot Stewart.

Melrose: Fraser Thomson, Ross McCann, George Taylor, Craig Jackson, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Bruce Colvine, Grant Shiells, Russell Anderson, Nick Beavon, Angus Runciman, Ruaridh Knott, Neil Irvine-Hess, Grant Runciman, Iain Moody. Replacements: Richard Ferguson, Ruairi McLeod, Rory Darge, Struan Hutchison, Patrick Anderson.

Referee: Steven Turnbull.

Assistant Referees: Michael Todd, Bob Nevins


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :