Match Reports

Melrose vs Currie - BT Cup (3rd round)

28 Jan 2017

Melrose vs Currie - BT Cup (3rd round)

Thanks to the frost covers having been in place for 48 hours the pitch, for this 3rd Round BT Cup match was spared the ravages of overnight frosts. But, with the day dawning cold, dreich and wet, the pitch was slippery, cutting up towards the end of the match. 
With seven minutes played Melrose won a penalty lineout in the Town Corner and from the resulting rolling maul Iain Moodie crashed over for the opening try to the left of the posts. Jason Baggott added the conversion and then, a minute later, slotted a long range penalty from the half way side of the Currie 10m line. With 16 minutes played Fraser Thomson, on the Melrose 22, fielded a Currie kick out of defence. He took off and with the ball being passed left, via the hands of Austin Lockington and Gavin Wood, across the pitch to Thomas Klein on the Melrose 10m line. The youngster, having just replaced an injured Sam Pecqueur, took off down the stand side skinning the Currie defence to score a magnificent try in the Town Corner. Baggott converted from the touchline. Just on the interval a breenge towards the Melrose line by Ross Westion was completed by Fergus Scott whose try was converted by Jamie Forbes.
Half time - Melrose 17 Currie 7
Five minutes into the second half Forbes kicked a penalty, but, 3 minutes later, Baggott's similar attempt floated wide of the post. There was no further scoring despite Ally Grieve being sin-binned, at 66 minutes, for an "iffy" tackle. Melrose managed to thwart the Currie advances and, thus, progress to the Quarter Final.
Melrose 17 Currie 10
Melrose - Fraser Thomsom. Patrick Anderson, Austin Lockington, Gavin Wood, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Murdo McAndrew, Callum Crookshanks, Russell Anderson, Ruairi McLeod, James Head, Aaron Welsh, Ally Grieve, Grant Runciman, Iain Moody. Replacements - Cammie McKay, Jamie Bhatti, Callum Wilde, Bruce Colvine, Thomas Klein.
Currie - Harvey Elms, Ruaridh Smith, Matthew Hooks, Robbie Nelson, Ben Robbins, Jamie Forbes, Matt O'Neal, Andrew McWilliam, Feergus Scott, Graeme Carson, Mike Vernel, Rhys Davis, Scott McGinley, Thomas Gordon, Ross Weston. Replacements - Conor McEvoy, John Cox, Reece Patterson, Dan Marek, Cameron Smith.
Referee - Dunx McClemont. Assistants - Kevin White & Dave McKervail.

Image taken by Douglas Hardie

Please see Gallery for more images


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :