Match Reports

Melrose vs Gala Waverley Cup

26 Dec 2017

The 2017 Waverley Cup match was played on a slippery pitch with the snow covered Eildons sparkling in the sunshine. Gala kicked off with Melrose facing the low sun. Play ebbed backwards and forwards with neither side prevailing until, at 22 minutes, Gregor Hunter opened the scoring with a penalty. Melrose pressed from the kick-off with Bruce Colvine making a break, five minutes later, on the Gala 10m line passing inside to Craig Jackson who raced in for a try between the posts before adding the conversion. Five minutes later Hunter kicked his second penalty to narrow the gap to a single point. With seven minutes of the half remaining Gala contested a Melrose penalty lineout poorly allowing Grant Runciman to race into the Policeman's Corner for an unconverted try.

Half time: Melrose 12 Gala 6

With five minutes of the second half played Ruaridh Knott made a fantastic break and, being caught just short of the line, the ball was re-cycled left to Ross McCann who fled into the Church Corner for an unconverted try. A quickly taken tap penalty, three minutes later, by Colvine let Grant Runciman score a try to the right of the posts with Jackson adding the extras. A quarter of an hour into the half Angus Runciman was replaced by Thomas Brown who represents the fifth generation of the Brown family to wear the Melrose jersey - congratulations. Ali Grieve, a minute later, made a massive breenge up the park off-loading to Richard Ferguson who twisted himself over the line for an unconverted try in the Church Corner. Gala, at 65 minutes, exerted considerable pressure with Hunter converting an Alan Emond try. With seven minutes remaining Melrose won a penalty lineout in St. Mary's Corner with the ball being passed left to McCann whose try to the left of the posts was converted by Jackson. From the kick-off Adam Hall made a long distance break down the stand side passing inside to Lewis Mallin whose try was converted by Jackson. From this kick-off Gala pressed and, but for greed, would have scored a try earlier than that scored in the Policeman's Corner by Simon Fairburn which ended the match.

After last year's turgid 90 minute 5 all draw the Waverley Cup has been regained by Melrose.

Melrose 43 Gala 18

Melrose: Bruce Colvine, Thomas Klein, Nyle Godsmark, George Taylor, Gavin Wood,  Craig Jackson, Struan Hutchison, Calum Crookshank, Richard Ferguson, Ruairi McLeod, Angus Runciman, Ali Grieve, Ruaridh Knott, Grant Runciman, Ruairdh Campbell. Replacements: Todd Pearce, Jack Dobie, Ben McLean, Matthew Klein, Ross McCann, Lewis Mallin, Adam Hall, Craig Fairbairn, Thomas Brown.

Gala: Graham Spiers, Carlisle Jordaan, John Turnbull, Alan Emond, Simon Fairburn, Gregorr Hunter, Lachlan Johnston, Martin Christie, Chris Keen, Terry Logan, Chris Weir, Richie Tod, Matthew Fraught, Stevie Cairns, Scott Wiklkinsion, Replacements: Jack Chambers, John Watson, Blair Beavely, Robbie Irvine, Ewan Gunter, Fraser Hunter.

Referee: Ben Blain. Assistants: David Changleng & Grant Denholm.


Jed-Forset 7s - 19 May 2018

Selkirk 7s 2018 - 12 May 2018

Earlston 7s 2018 - 06 May 2018

Kelso 7s 2018 - 05 May 2018

BT Cup Final Melrose vs Stirling County - 28 Apr 2018

Langholm 7s (1) - 28 Apr 2018

Berwick 7s - 22 Apr 2018

Hawick 7s (1) - 21 Apr 2018

Melrose Sevens - 14 Apr 2018

BT Premiship Final 2018 Melrose vs Ayr - 07 Apr 2018

Gala 7s 1.4.18 - 01 Apr 2018

Jed 7s - 13 May 2017

Selkirk Sevens - 06 May 2017

Earlston 7s - 30 Apr 2017

Kelso 7s - 29 Apr 2017

Border League Final - 26 Apr 2017

BT Cup Final - 22 Apr 2017

Langholm 7s - 22 Apr 2017

Berwick Sevens - 16 Apr 2017

BT Premiership League Final - 15 Apr 2017

Hawick 7s - 15 Apr 2017

Melrose 7s - 08 Apr 2017

Gala 7s - 02 Apr 2017

BT Premiership Semi Final - 01 Apr 2017

  Melrose Rugby

The Greenyards, Melrose

Tel : 01896822993
Mail :